The Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr. Governor
100 State Circle
Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1925

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. President
Maryland Senate
State House, H-107
Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

The Honorable Michael E. Busch Speaker Maryland House of Delegates State House, H-101 Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

Dear Governor Hogan, President Miller, and Speaker Busch,

As members of Maryland's business, non-profit, and advocacy communities, the undersigned organizations work every day to advance quality of life and access to opportunity for all Marylanders. Throughout our state, a world class transit system is important to connecting employers to our talented workforce and providing access to essential services for hundreds of thousands of Marylanders daily. We commend the General Assembly for addressing this topic by advancing legislation that provides increased funding as well as reform measures for MTA and Metro this session.

Virginia's General Assembly recently passed a bill that provides \$154 million in new, dedicated, and bondable funding for Metro and includes reform and accountability measures to improve governance and operations. This funding represents Virginia's share of the regional funding to achieve no less than \$500 million in additional funding annually between Maryland, the District and Virginia that will recapitalize the system and make critical capital improvements. While we applaud the progress in Maryland to date, we urge the General Assembly and Governor Hogan to finish the work that has been started by fully funding Maryland's \$167 million proportional share for Metro and increasing capital and operating funding for MTA.

Metro is crucial to the economic well-being and sustainability of Maryland. Each weekday a quarter of a million Marylanders rely on Metro to get to work and school, access healthcare, see family members, or experience cultural and other amenities. If Metro's funding crisis is allowed to deepen, these Marylanders

will be immediately affected, and a severe burden of displaced Metro riders will be placed on our region's transportation infrastructure.

For Metro to be put on a positive and sustainable path, each jurisdiction must provide their full funding share and support crucial reforms to improve the effectiveness of Metro's Board of Directors and to contain costs. These reforms include a reduction in the size of the board, a requirement that board members meet certain standards relative to expertise, and protecting the Inspector General's independence and funding. The Maryland Metro/Transit Funding Act provides Metro \$150 million in dedicated funding, but is not sufficient. A funding gap in Maryland will cause Virginia and the District to reduce their shares accordingly. This would mean leaving millions pledged to Metro by Virginia this year on the table, with no guarantee that that funding will be made available again.

A minimum \$500 million in new, dedicated funding—a number agreed on by Metro GM Paul Wiedefeld, former USDOT Secretary Ray LaHood, and the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments—is needed to avoid further deterioration of service, to replace all aging components, begin addressing leaking Red Line tunnels, and restore the system to frequent and reliable service. It also places the region in position to consider future service expansion, including to National Harbor.

While we are encouraged by the momentum building for the Metro/Transit Funding Act and the leadership shown by the General Assembly, Virginia's full funding pledge makes it necessary that Maryland increase the funding in the bill for Metro to \$167 million. A long-term solution has eluded our region for 40 years. Virginia's vote proves conclusively that such a solution is possible this year. We, the undersigned, look forward to working with the General Assembly and Governor Hogan to ensure that Maryland and our region do not miss this opportunity.

Sincerely,

Jason MillerKimberly HornAnthony A. WilliamsCEOChairCEO & Executive DirectorGreater WashingtonGreater WashingtonFederal City CouncilPartnershipBoard of Trade

Robert E. Buchanan Stewart Schwartz David C. Harrington
President Executive Director President & CEO

2030 Group Coalition for Smarter Growth Prince George's Cha

2030 Group Coalition for Smarter Growth Prince George's Chamber of Commerce

Ginanne M. Italiano Georgette "Gigi" Godwin Josh Tulkin
President & CEO President & CEO Chapter Director
Greater Bethesda Chamber Montgomery County Maryland Sierra Club
of Commerce Chamber of Commerce

Jim Young Jane Redicker Elizabeth Cromwell Vice President, Corporate President & CEO President & CEO Facilities and Real Estate Greater Silver Spring Frederick County Chamber Marriott International Chamber of Commerce of Commerce Jacky Schultz **Emily Scarr** Jim Otradovec President Director **Executive Director** Suburban Hospital Maryland PIRG American Council of Engineering Companies/Maryland **Emily Ranson** Tami J. Howie Kimberly Brandt Maryland Program **CEO Executive Director** Coordinator Maryland Tech Council 1000 Friends of Maryland Clean Water Action Paulette Hammond Joshua Feldmark Dawn M. Becker President **Executive Director** Executive Vice President, Maryland Conservation Bike Maryland **General Counsel** Council Federal Realty Investment Trust Christine Ross Benjamin Orr Kathy McGuire President & CEO **Executive Director** President Maryland Chamber Maryland Center on League of Women Voters of Commerce **Economic Policy** of the National Capital Area Daryl Whitman Elaine Apter Richard Willson Co-President Co-President **Chief Operating Officer** Managed Care Advisors League of Women League of Women Voters of Maryland Voters of Maryland Raj Kudchadkar, J.D., M.P.P. Margaret "Peggy" Jeffers, Esq. Christine Scott **Executive Vice President** President & CEO **Executive Director** Apartment & Office Purple Line NOW Central Maryland Chamber **Building Association**

Amy Ginsburg Heather Iliff Terry Manspeaker

Executive Director President & CEO Owner/Founder

Friends of White Flint Maryland Nonprofits Show Your Science, LLC

cc: The Honorable Douglas J. J. Peters, Majority Leader, Maryland Senate

The Honorable J.B. Jennings, Minority Leader, Maryland Senate

The Honorable C. William Frick, Majority Leader, Maryland House of Delegates

The Honorable Nicholaus R. Kipke, Minority Leader, Maryland House of Delegates

The Honorable Edward J. Kasemeyer, Chair, Senate Budget & Taxation Committee

The Honorable Richard S. Madaleno, Jr., Vice - Chair, Senate Budget & Taxation Committee

The Honorable Thomas M. Middleton, Chair, Senate Finance Committee

The Honorable John C. Astle, Vice - Chair, Senate Finance Committee

The Honorable Maggie McIntosh, Chair, House of Delegates Appropriations Committee

The Honorable Tawanna P. Gaines, Vice - Chair, House of Delegates Appropriations Committee

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve, Chair, House of Delegates Environment & Transportation Committee

The Honorable Dana M. Stein, Vice - Chair, House of Delegates Environment & Transportation Committee

The Honorable Brian J. Feldman, Senator, Maryland Senate

The Honorable Marc Korman, Delegate, Maryland House of Delegates

The Honorable Brooke E. Lierman, Delegate, Maryland House of Delegates

The Honorable Erek L. Barron, Delegate, Maryland House of Delegates